Thom Bierdz and Marvin J. Wolf: Next on TVC

Actor, artist and author Thom Bierdz and screenwriter and novelist Marvin J. Wolf will join us this weekend on TV CONFIDENTIAL, Friday at 7pm ET and PT on Share-a-Vision Radio.

The first openly gay contract player on a major daytime TV drama, Thom Bierdz is best known for playing Philip Chancellor III on The Young and The Restless. Some of you may also remember him for his frequent appearances on such prime time shows as Matlock, Murder She Wrote and Melrose Place. Also an award-winning author and artist, Thom’s books include Forgiving Troy, a memoir that recounts the murder of his mother by his paranoid schizophrenic brother (and how Thom came to survive that tragedy and ultimately find forgiveness), while publications such as Highlight Hollywood have likened Thom’s artwork to that of Pablo Picasso, Vincent van Gogh, Henri Matisse and Andy Warhol.

Thom’s latest book, Young, Gay and Restless: My Scandalous On-Screen & Off-Screen Sexual Liberations, not only proves that Mark Twain was right when he famously said that truth is all too often stranger than fiction, but just may be the most open and honest memoir you will ever read. We’ll talk about that, plus we’ll show you how, despite its provocative title, Young, Gay and Restless is a testament to the human spirit. Sensitively written, it tells the story of a man who, after reaching stardom in Hollywood, returns to his humble beginnings to find what we all seek—peace and contentment—in the solitude of a cabin in the woods far away from Hollywood. Thom Bierdz will join us in our second hour.

With Veteran’s Day weekend upon us, this week’s show will also include a return appearance from author, journalist, screenwriter, raconteur and novelist Marvin J. Wolf (For Whom the Shofar Blows, A Scribe Dies in Brooklyn). A former combat photographer for the U.S. Army during Vietnam, Marv has been a freelance photojournalist and freelance writer for more than forty years. Marv’s latest effort, A Tale of Two Rabbis, is the third in a series of mystery novels featuring crime-solving Rabbi Ben. A master of the Torah, Talmud and Tae Kwon Do, Rabbi Ben is a discerning student of human nature that one reader once described as a “Jewish 007.”

In A Tale of Two Rabbis, Rabbi Ben reluctantly probes the disappearance of a rabbi in the Temple Hill area of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania—only to find himself under suspicion of the murder of another man. We’ll ask Marv how he came to develop Rabbi Ben, including how he was inspired, in part, by Paladin, the “traveling angel” who was the protagonist of the long-running CBS television series and radio drama Have Gun, Will Travel. But we’ll also show you how Rabbi Ben shares some of the characteristics of Dr. Richard Kimble (The Fugitive), Tod Stiles and Buz Murdock (Route 66), and, in at least one important respect, Jim Rockford of The Rockford Files. Marvin J. Wolf will join us in our first hour.

Also this week: Given the recent release of Bohemian Rhapsody, the critically acclaimed, highly anticipated biopic of Queen front man Freddie Mercury, this week’s show will include highlights from our December 2012 conversation with music journalist Lesley-Ann Jones. Lesley-Ann’s book Mercury: An Intimate Biography of Freddie Mercury not only traces the role that television played in the rise of Queen in the 1970s and ’80s, but includes the back stories of such hit songs as “We Are the Champions,” “Under Pressure” and, of course, “Bohemian Rhapsody.”

TV CONFIDENTIAL: A radio talk show about television
Fri 7pm ET and PT on Share-a-Vision Radio, KSAV.org and CX Radio Brazil
Sat 8pm ET, 5pm PT and Sun 10am ET, 7am PT on
Indiana Talks (Marion, IN)
Sat 10pm ET, 7pm PT on
WON 920 The Apple (Brooklyn, NY)
Sun 9am ET, 6am PT
KSCO-AM 1080 (San Jose, Santa Cruz and Salinas, CA)
Sun 9am ET, 6am PT
KOMY-AM 1340 (La Selva Beach and Watsonville, CA)
Sun 1pm ET, 10am PT
CROC Radio (British Columbia, Canada)
Sun 9pm PT, Mon Mid ET on
KHMB-AM and FM (Half Moon Bay, CA)
Mon 10pm ET, 7pm PT on
The Radio Slot Network (San Francisco, CA)
Replays various times throughout the week on
the Entertainment Channel at PWRNetwork
Tape us now, listen to us later, using
DAR.fm/tvconfidential
Also available as a podcast via
iTunes, Spreaker, FeedBurner, SoundCloud, Stitcher, YouTube and other platforms
Follow us online at
http://www.televisionconfidential.com
Follow us now on Twitter:
Twitter.com/tvconfidential
Like our Fan Page at
www.facebook.com/tvconfidential
Subscribe to our
YouTube page at www.youtube.com/tvconfidential
Become a patron of our show through Patreon

Comments are closed.